Welcome to the Department of Political Science at the University of Mainz

The Department of Political Science is part of the Faculty¬†of Social Sciences, Media, and Sports¬†of¬†Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz. Our English web pages offer information on the Department itself and its units, as well as on our¬†teaching and research. A total of¬†1,769 undergraduates and graduate students¬†are currently enrolled at the Department (last update:¬†November 2013). In Political Science we have¬†720 students in the B. A. programme (495 as a major), 74 in the M. A. programme “Empirical Democracy Studies”, 20 in the¬†trinational M. A. in European Studies¬†and¬†406 in the old non-consecutive M. A. programme (192 as a major); in “Civics” for high-school teachers, we have¬†293 students in the B. Ed. programme,¬†126 in the M. Ed. programme and 141¬†in the old non-consecutive “Staatsexamen” programme. In addition, several dozen graduates are currently working towards a Ph. D. in Political Science.



The Department of Political Science at Johannes Gutenberg University looks back on a history of five decades of politics as an academic discipline in Mainz. In the early 1960s, long before the social sciences became a recognized academic division of their own in German universities, two chairs for the “Science of Politics” were already established in Mainz – one in the Faculty of Philosophy, the other in the Faculty of Law. A decade later, these chairs were integrated into what became the Department of Political Science. Today, the Department is a vigorous entity, home of¬†app. 40 faculty members, all of whom are dedicated both to teaching and to research.